teachblogandtweet

If a child can't learn the way we teach, maybe we should teach the way they learn.

New Year’s Goals

Leave a comment

With each new year, I try to make resolutions and changes to benefit myself, my family, and my students.

 

For my students, I am always looking for new techniques, apps, lessons, units, etc to try in the classroom.  I am very excited to try a new app this week that one of my colleagues found for me.  It will go perfectly with my “word work” activities.  We are trying it out tomorrow.  I will post some pics to show you the results.  I am also looking forward to working on a poetry unit.  The 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders have been asked by Mike Fisher to illustrate his book of poems.  The students are very excited about this opportunity. I have been researching different types of poetry and have been amazed by all of the resources that are out there.  Our art teacher will be working closely with the students to help the illustrations become beautiful masterpieces for the book.  I am also looking forward to seeing the results of the Language Arts Tutorial Wiki that my 5th graders are putting together.  The tutorials are quite impressive and I look forward to sharing the WIKI with all of you.  I also hope to see some really positive growth from the students after the implementation of the Daily 5 this year.

I look forward to another great year of teaching and trying out new suggestions/ideas.  Happy New Year to all of you!

Leave a comment