teachblogandtweet

If a child can't learn the way we teach, maybe we should teach the way they learn.

LOVE the Pensieve!

Leave a comment

For those of you out there also using the Daily 5 (or in my case, the Daily 3), I’m sure you have created your own version of the pensieve.  Basically, you have to have a notebook or place to compile reading strategies for each child, conference logs for each child, goals for each child, and so on.  I started off using a large binder with many pages and sections.  I wasn’t feeling organized, and I felt like I was spending too much time on the binder itself.  Then I was introduced to the interactive Pensieve on the Daily 5 website.  My colleague and mentor, Andrea Hernandez, discovered this amazing site for me to use.  There is a small fee for the yearly subscription, but it is so worth it.

This is just one individual student’s page.  There is a page which lists my entire class individually and I just click on the child that I am working with.  It has the calendar right there to schedule my conferences with students.  It is all right at my fingertips.  There are charts for keeping track and it keeps a running record from each conference.  It has definitely made my life easier, so I wanted to share.

Currently, both of my classes are working on the CAFE menu now.  Each child has their own strategy to work on and their own reading journal.  We have made it through the first nine weeks, and now I am hoping to see the students’ growth and progression with their reading, writing, and vocabulary.

Leave a Reply

